Join Today
Milwaukee
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sir_malaki

Thread: Confused in choosing a welding course

1. Top | #1

Confused in choosing a welding course

hi guys,
    Which certification do I need to choose to get a welding job? I have completed my high school graduation and when I went for the interviews for welding, they are asking whether I had done any certifications for any particular field. They asked me to get certification course and I am confused about it. I have seen a list of courses but confused in choosing one. Which course should I choose? Which one might have more scope in getting a jobs?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register to remove all the ads.

Ridgid 2nd Post

3. Top | #2
    First off I'm not a classroom trained welder, I'm just your average farm boy caliber. I learned from my grandfather, father, uncle, brothers, and on my own. I am a teacher by trade, though, I have a bachelor and masters in education. From what I know from both sides is to start with your basic courses.

First off, do you have any welding experience? I know a guy that went through trade school and received his first/basic certification and come to find out he didn't like welding all day as a career. If you have had any experience this is great because you know, or if you don't know you will learn quick, it can be a tedious, hot, smelly, uncomfortable job sometimes. Second I would talk to various companies in your area to find out what they are looking for. Then take that information to your school of choice. The counselors at the school will help you decide on what path to take.